Close X

Blog

Underage DUI: What To Do If You're Pulled Over

Posted by Terry A. Wapner | Oct 16, 2013 | 0 Comments

When you are under 21 years old and pulled over for DUI, the penalties are vastly different than someone who is of a legal drinking age.

California's underage drinking and driving statutes are incredibly strict.  If you are over 21, the legal limit is .08% or more in your breath or blood.  However, underage drivers can have severe consequences any time their BAC is shown to be .01% or higher.

When you are pulled over by a police officer who suspects you of drinking, it is important not to do anything to incriminate yourself.  However, unlike people over the age of 21, you don't have the same right to refuse a chemical test of your breath.

Part of maintaining driving privileges as an under-21 driver means that you consent to a breath test even before an arrest for DUI.  If you refuse to breath into the breathalyzer device, you will have your license suspended automatically.

If you are stopped and your BAC is higher than .01%, you may be arrested and booked.  It is important to contact an attorney as soon as possible after you are arrested.  There is a limited amount of time to save your driving privileges and help you prevent an underage DUI conviction from going on your record.

Keep in mind that because breathalyzer tests can detect molecules other than alcohol, there are many reasons that an underage driver might fail a breath test even without drinking.  Talking to an experienced lawyer as soon as you can, while remaining silent with the police, is the best way to beat an underage DUI charge.

It isn't the end of the world if you are arrested for DUI, but it can get a lot worse. An experienced DUI attorney can help you after your arrest, whether or not you were drinking before your traffic stop.

Contact an experienced DUI attorney.  Terry A. Wapner can help navigate an underage DUI towards the best possible outcome.

About the Author

Terry A. Wapner

Terry A. Wapner confines his practice to the defense of persons accused of driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, and related crimes.

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

What Happens Now?

Roadside arrest

It’s a frightening situation. You are arrested for DUI after submitting to a breathalyzer and participating in a couple of field sobriety tests. The officer confiscated your driver’s license and provided you with a temporary license. You were given a notice to appear in court in a few weeks. Now what? Fresno DUI attorney, Terry A. Wapner, can help you make sense of this situation, guide you through the process, and might be able to provide the defense that results in finding you Not Guilty!

Myths & Truths About DUI Charges

Dui1

Myth: “There is nothing that a Fresno DUI defense lawyer can do.” Truth: Absolutely not true. Over the past 7-10 years, the conviction rate in California for DUI's is only around 70 percent. That means that 30 percent of the charges are being reduced to charges that are less than a DUI charge or not guilty verdicts are being returned. I have the ability and have won Fresno DUI cases. Do not give in to despair and believe that you are destined to lose. Entering a guilty plea to a DUI charge when the evidence against you can be challenged may result in an expensive mistake that could haunt you in the long run.