Have you been arrested for DUI in Fresno County?
If you have been arrested for DUI in Fresno County, it is best to work with a local and experienced DUI defense attorney who understands the laws and can help you throughout the legal process. Terry A. Wapner has represented clients charged with DUI in the Fresno area for more than 27 years. In fact, Mr. Wapner's practice is 100% dedicated to defending those who are faced with DUI and DUI-related crimes.
Mr. Wapner is considered to be a “go to” expert in the area of DUI defense by Fresno County judges and other criminal lawyers in the area. This benefits his clients, because although counties throughout the state of California follow the same laws, it is helpful to have an attorney who is familiar with local law enforcement, courthouse personnel, and courthouse locations.
What happens after getting arrested for DUI in Fresno County?
DUI charges will lead to both administrative and criminal penalties. After a DUI arrest, you only have 10 days to request an administrative hearing. The administrative hearing is your chance to contest your automatic license suspension. If you fail to request this hearing within the strict 10-day time frame, you will have forfeited your right to the hearing.
Your attorney can accompany you to this hearing in addition to your court hearing. Mr. Wapner has been doing Fresno DMV Administrative hearings for 27 years. The rules associated with these administrative hearings are different than the rules for criminal hearings. Mr. Wapner has extensive experience in both and can put that experience to work for you! In most cases, Mr. Wapner's fee for your DUI will include the administrative hearing process, too.
Where is the Fresno County Courthouse?
In Fresno County, there are 5 misdemeanor courts which are located in the main courthouse. These Departments include 1, 2, 10 12, and 13.
Fresno County Courthouse, Central Division
1100 Van Ness
Fresno, CA 93724
Phone: (559) 457-2000
Your DUI case will be heard in one of those 5 departments. The cases are organized according to the first letter of your last name. For example, if your last name starts with “W,” Department 13 will hear your case.
If your case is a misdemeanor, Mr. Wapner can typically appear for you without you having to be in court. Generally, the judge assigned to your case will permit this and you will therefore not have to miss work or other commitments in order to go to court. However, this is not the case if you are working with a public defender.
What are the penalties for DUI in Fresno County?
Fresno County follows the laws described in the California Penal and California Vehicle Codes for DUI punishment. California has both minimum and maximum sentences for DUI and DUI-related offenses. This means that judges have some discretion when it comes to sentencing. If you are charged with your first DUI offense in Fresno County, you will likely face the following penalties:
- Minimum 10-20 days jail which may be done in a work program
- Approximately $2000 fine
- 3-9 month DUI school
- Possible AA's or NA's for a period of time
- 3-5 years probation
- Possible alcohol restriction for term of probation
- 6-month license suspension by the DMV upon a conviction
Work with a local attorney after a Fresno County DUI arrest
If you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Fresno County, do not hesitate to contact Mr. Wapner. He has the experience and knowledge to ensure that you receive the best possible outcome for your case. Dealing with a DUI arrest is a difficult process for you and your family. It is helpful to know that you can rely on an attorney like Mr. Wapner to make it easier. Please call (559) 266-8604 to schedule an initial consultation.