There is nothing wrong with fighting and there is a real chance that you will come out with a better deal. If you plead guilty, you will be guilty. Fighting is your only chance to end up with something better.
I get asked all the time…”Do I need a DUI attorney for my case?” or “Can't I just represent myself and get the same result?" First of all, not all DUI arrests end up as DUI convictions! That being said, how will you know whether pleading guilty or going to trial is a good choice? It depends on a...
In some cases, a criminal record can be expunged. The term “expungement” refers to the process of clearing or cleaning up an individual’s criminal record. It is important to understand that not every record can be expunged.
The U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that an anonymous tip can provide sufficient probable cause to justify a decision by California law enforcement officers to stop a car vehicle in order to investigate reckless or drunken driving.
Alright, so you may have just been convicted of DUI in Fresno or maybe you just got arrested for DUI and are now worried about how it may impact your California driver’s license and auto insurance premium. Well, in addition to expensive fines, detailed alcohol education classes, and maybe even some jail time, your license and auto insurance will most definitely be affected after a DUI.
The attorney-client privilege is a pretty well-known concept throughout the United States. Most people understand that when they talk to an attorney, the things said during the discussion will be protected and privileged.
I am sure that you have the heard the following phrase on television and in movies: “You have the right to an attorney . . . ,” but what does that really mean? Do you get an attorney for every situation - no matter what the crime or how severe the penalty may be?
You have most likely seen it happen. Maybe it was you who did it. But, could this act lead to a traffic citation or even worse? I am referring to the act of one Fresno driver flashing his vehicle’s headlights in order to alert other drivers that there is a police vehicle up ahead. Recently, a federal judge in Missouri has ruled in favor of drivers.
Each year, teen drivers right here in Fresno are getting arrested and charged with DUI (driving under the influence) and other alcohol-related offenses. While it is unfortunate for any individual to get arrested for DUI in Fresno, it is even more troubling when it involves a teen driver.
Recently, a 22-year-old Fresno man was given a 10-year sentence in state prison after he was found to have participated in a street race that led to the death of one man and injured three others. The facts of the case show that Jesus Miguel Corrales was under the influence of alcohol at the time of the crash and he pleaded guilty to gross vehicular manslaughter while intoxicated for the crash that occurred in southwest Fresno in March of 2012.
It’s nothing new to hear about celebrity news and who caught doing what with whom, but some stories end up getting a lot more publicity than others. In the past few years, the former Disney star, Amanda Bynes has had quite a bit of legal troubles. Throughout this time, there were rumblings that she may be dealing with a mental condition that could be partly to blame for her run-ins with the law.
Last month, a DUI (driving under the influence) operation was set-up in Visalia, and it led to a grand total of four DUI arrests. Although the checkpoint was labeled as a DUI operation, there were also 32 traffic citations handed out during the Friday night, Saturday morning operation.
Most people have a fairly good idea about misdemeanors and felonies. It’s a fairly basic idea: felonies are for the more severe crimes and an individual is charged with a misdemeanor for a less serious type of offense. However, it gets a little murky when you get into the details involved with felonies and misdemeanors.
Driving under the influence (DUI) offenses generally lead to a variety of different penalties and consequences. However, there are differences in those penalties and consequences depending on whether you have had a DUI conviction in the past.
Maybe you’ve been arrested a DUI offense in the past. Maybe you have never even been pulled over. Whatever your individual situation may be, it’s not a bad idea to have a little more information on California law as it relates to drunk driving.
In California, you may be required to install an ignition interlock device in your car after being convicted of a DUI (driving under the influence) offense. This device is meant to be a type of restriction on your driving. Basically, an ignition interlock device is used to measure a driver’s BAC (blood alcohol content) level.
The 5th District Court of Appeal, today, tossed out the conviction of Steven Spriggs, who was given a ticket for using the map feature on his cell phone. The Court concluded that the vehicle code applies to listening and talking on a cell phone while driving-not looking at a map app. This decisio...
As a DUI defense attorney, I get asked a lot of questions about how much alcohol is too much to drive and how much a DUI will cost. It’s never a good idea to drink and drive. As an adult, it is important that you are aware of how alcohol affects you and your body and not compare yourself to others.
A young California woman is at a hospital, being treated for injuries after she was involved in a terrible car accident near Diamond Bar, California. Although not confirmed, it is presumed that alcohol was a factor in the crash.
When people think about search warrant, the mostly think about officers coming to an individual’s home, showing the homeowner a search warrant, and looking through closets and drawers in order to find drugs, weapons, or other kinds of evidence that may be described in the search warrant.
So, most people know that if you are stopped by police while driving with a certain BAC percentage, you will be automatically charged with driving under the influence (DUI). These are the questions that usually come along with that statement: “What is my state’s legal limit?” and “What if I don’t feel drunk even at that legal limit?”
As a DUI defense attorney in Fresno, I get a lot of people asking me how long their driver’s license will be suspended after getting a DUI in California. It depends. This seems to be the common answer by lawyers when they get asked legal questions. But, it is really true.
Just within the last couple of weeks, the state of California has announced a new program (and increased funding) directed at catching drivers who are operating their vehicles while under the influence of drugs.
Are the young kids are doing it! Well, maybe not all of them. But the popularity of apps for smart phones is definitely increasing. It seems that there is an app for anything these days: games, news, sports, and the list goes on. In my line of work, I have seen and heard about one type of app in particular. The app that tells you if are “too drunk to drive” or “what your BAC is.”
Like most other states, if you get pulled over for DUI in California, you will have to deal with issues related to your driver’s license. In most cases, you will receive a license suspension for any given period of time. When this happens, you will have the option of requesting an administrative hearing. Not all administrative hearings are the same, but having some general information about these hearings is usually a good idea